Skip to content

Corks

August 25, 2012

It’s no surprise that I have a tendency to get addicted attached to things pretty quickly.

green tea lattes, anyone?

A few weeks ago, I went to Corks Wine Co. in Bluffton for a College of Charleston alumni event. Having never been there and my appreciation of Chardonnay, I was ready to get there after a long day with my class.

I spent the next few hours enjoying the atmosphere, conversation, and night.

I would totally describe the interior as understated swanky. Sure, there’s the bar and the high-top tables and the most ridiculous chairs & stools that you just sink into…but it’s more than that. It’s comfortable and casual—an unpretentious wine bar.

While I went with the Poppy Chardonnay {which might just be my new favorite}, the bar is extensive and even features craft beers.

When my brother and sister-in-law came to town, I thought I’d switch things up with my usual go-to and head back to Corks. This time, dinner was involved.

Corks’ Happy Hour features a $15 discount on bottles, so we went with a Prosecco. After gazing at the menu for a while, we ordered 5 Big Small Plates: Smoked Salmon, Tuna Sashimi, Antipasta, White Pizza, and a Grilled Cheese.

We got a little cheesey

Everything was great and easy to split between the three of us. I’d never had smoked salmon before and was pleasantly surprised that it wasn’t overwhelmingly smoky. That being said, the tuna was my favorite by far!

Perfectly chilled.

Since J&A won’t be in town for my actual birthday, we figured we’d make this the celebration. Naturally we had the Chocolate Lava Cake for dessert.

Apparently I like my birthday to last 2 months

There wasn’t a lot of ‘lava’ but there was definitely enough chocolate.

{the peanut butter cheesecake is probably my favorite!}

If you go:

*definitely take advantage of Happy Hour!

*don’t forget some Big Small Plates

*save room for dessert

Corks Wine Company on Urbanspoon

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

